About This Site

Origins and Funding

Seed funding

The seed funding for this project was from the Canterbury Waste Joint Committee over 3 years from 2012-2014.  The information was originally presented online as an ebook created by Media Kitchen. The shift to website was made in 2016, assisted by WasteMINZ.

Foundation sponsors

Annual funding is from participating local councils, Environment Canterbury, Environment Southland and sponsorship from O-I Glass NZ, Plasback (Agpac) ,and SULO (VIP) contributed towards the cost of establishment of the website. In 2019 they are Gold sponsors (see information below), recently joined by Waste Management NZ Ltd

Future funding

The website is a collaborative project co-funded by local and regional councils and commercial enterprises.  The funding is used to contract a writer (Rhys Taylor 03 6938726) and other help to maintain and update the website, with some technical support from Timaru District Council webmaster.


Local unitary, district and city councils pay $200 per year for project membership.  Each council is then live on the 'my council' page and has four links direct to its own council website for information on kerbside collections, transfer stations, fees and charges and other waste minimisation information. Link titles are editable.

Regional councils also pay $200 per year for project membership, also invoiced annually.


Commercial sponsors contribute funding at Gold, Silver or Bronze sponsor levels and may supply photos. Information relating to sponsors will be generally identified with a photo or logo. See below for our current Sponsors. Advertsing is strictly limited.

This website (and the publisher, Timaru District Council) does not endorse or warrant any commercial information provided. See our page on terms and conditions.

Participating Councils

in 2018-2019 
AshburtonAshburton Council Logo 
AucklandAuckland Council logo 
ChristchurchChristchurch CC logo 
HastingsHastings City logo 
HurunuiHurunui Council logo 
InvercargillInvercargill City logo 
KaikouraKaikoura Council logo 
Kapiti CoastKapiti Coast Council logo 
MackenzieMackenzie District logo 
MastertonMasterton Council logo 
Porirua CityPorirua City logo 
SelwynSelwyn District logo 
Southland Region 
TasmanTasman District logo 
WaimakaririWaimakariri Council logo 
WaimateWaimate District logo 
WellingtonAb-Pos-Wellington Council 
Western Bay of PlentyWBOPnewlogo 
Canterbury Regional CouncilCanterbury Regional Council logo 

Commercial Sponsors

The foundation (now Gold) sponsors

0-I glass logoPlasback logo smallSULO logo small

Read about O-I Glass commitment to sustainability

Plasback are Ministry for Environment accredited for Agrecovery product stewardship - and read more about them on our agricultural recycling page

SULO has a strong commitment to Quality Assurance in bin manufacture

Our latest Gold sponsor in 2018 is Waste Management

Gold Sponsors - only one more space!

contact us in 2019 to join the four sponsors above and present your company to our audience, via One Planet web site.

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors